OCN Members


The project’s international team of Co-Investigators are based across disciplines and institutions. Below are their principal roles and institutions, please see their insitutional web pages for additional roles and affiliations. 

Principal Investigator:

Professor Julian Savulescu
Uehiro Chair in Practical Ethics
Faculty of Philsophy


Professor Walter Sinnott-Armstrong
Chauncey Stillman Professor of Practical Ethics
Duke University

Professor Neil Levy (Deputy Director, Research)
Florey Neuroscience Institutes
University of Melbourne

Professor Barbara Sahakian 
Department of Psychiatry
University of Cambridge

Professor Bill Fulford
Professor of Philosophy and Mental Health
University of Warwick

Professor Irene Tracey
Director of Oxford Centre for Functional Magnetic Resonance Imaging of the Brain (FMRIB) Centre, Nuffield Professor of Anaesthetic Science
University of Oxford

Professor Nick Bostrom
Director, Future of Humanity Institute and Programme on the Impacts of Future Technology
University of Oxford

Professor Alastair Buchan
Head, Medical Sciences Division
University of Oxford

Dr Anne Aimola Davies
Department of Experimental Psychology and Nuffield Department of Clinical Medicine 
University of Oxford

Dr Hilary Madder
John Radcliffe Hospital

Research Staff, Students and Visitors



  • Matthew Baum
  • Sylvia Terbeck
  • Paul Troop

Distinguished Research Fellows

Research Associates

  • Dr Alexandre Erler
  • Dr Barbro Fröding
  • Olga Wudarczyk

Academic Visitors

  • Professor Enrique Bonete-Perales, University of Salamanca
  • Professor José Luis Triviño, Universidad Pompeu-Fabra, Barcelona
  • Roman Gaehwiler, University of Zurich
  • Bridget Williams, Monash University
  • Daniel Hall-Flavin, Mayo Clinic, Rochester