Spanish Research Ethics Committee honour for Prof Antonio Diéguez-Lucena

Prof Antonio Diéguez-Lucena to join the Spanish Ministry of Science and Innovation's first Research Ethics Committee

Academic visitor Dr Antonio Dieguez

Prof Antonio Diéguez-Lucena (University of Málaga)

Uehiro Centre Visiting Scholar Prof Antonio Diéguez-Lucena has been invited to form part of the 12-person Research Ethics Committee by the Spanish Ministry of Science and Innovation.

The Minister of Science and Innovation, Diana Morant, said that this new independent and consultative body on matters related to research ethics and scientific integrity will provide Spain with a tool with which to support political decisions and those of research centres.

"Science must always ensure that scientific knowledge and innovation are available and at the service of progress and improving the lives of citizens," she said.

Morant also noted that 'science makes the diagnosis, but it is the politicians who have to translate what science says into real solutions'. It is hoped that the new body will enable the Ministry of Science and Innovation to move forward, together with the representatives of the autonomous communities, to improve Spain's reputation and capabilities in the scientific fields as a whole. 

Composition of the Spanish Research Ethics Committee

The Committee is made up of 12 experts of recognised prestige in fields such as bioethics, law, philosophy of science, artificial intelligence, biotechnology and animal experimentation.
The members are: Antonio Diéguez-Lucena (University of Málaga), María del Carmen Fernández (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid), Pere Puigdomènech (Centro de Investigación en Agrigenómica CSIC-UAB), Leonor Ruíz (Hospital Virgen de la Victoria de Málaga), Nuria Sebastián (Universitat Pompeu Fabra), María del Val Bolívar (Universidad de Alcalá), Encarna Aguayo (Polytechnic University of Cartagena), María Amparo Alonso (University of A Coruña), Rafael Yuste (Columbia University), Coral Calero (University of Castilla-La Mancha), Jordi Camí (Barcelona Biomedical Research Park), Javier de Francisco Morcillo (University of Extremadura).